Clinical Pathology Laboratory

The clinical pathology laboratory of the Diagnostic Service of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine provides biochemical, endocrinological, hematological and cytological analyzes throughout the year for various animal species (Small animals and exotics,  Bovine, ovine and caprine, Equine and swine).

 

Tests offered in the laboratory

  • Biochemical analyzes
  • Hematology: blood count and smear test
  • Hemostasis: prothrombin time (PT), partial thromboplastin time (PTT), thrombelastography
  • Endocrinology: cortisol, progesterone, total T4, canine endogenous TSH, urinary cortisol / creatinine ratio
  • Immuno-hematology: blood compatibility, Coombs test
  • Fluid cytology (CSF, effusions, lavage fluid, synovial fluid), external lesion, internal organ and lymph node
  • Bone marrow analysis
  • Urology: physical and chemical examination, urinary microscopy
  • Electrophoresis of proteins
  • Dosage of drugs: potassium bromide, levetiracetam, phenobarbital, zonisamide
  • Dosage of mycotoxins, selenium and vitamins

Clinical pathologists 

Christian Bédard, DMV, M.Sc., Diplomate ACVP

Laboratory Director

Full Professor, Department of Pathology and Microbiology

christian.bedard@umontreal.ca

 

Carolyn Gara-Boivin, DMV, M.Sc., Diplomate ACVP

Associate Professor, Department of Pathology and Microbiology

carolyn.gara-boivin@umontreal.ca

 

Annie Deschamps, DMV, Diplomate ACVP

Teaching Clinician, Diagnostic Service

annie.deschamps@umontreal.ca

 

Resident (s)

Caroline Trudel, DMV caroline.trudel.1@umontreal.ca

Carlos Gomes Fernandez-Blanco, DMV carlos.gomez.fernandez-blanco@umontreal.ca

 

Technician () s                 

Sandrine Cros sandrine.cros@umontreal.ca

Mario Guay mario.guay@umontreal.ca

Nathalie Cusson nathalie.cusson@umontreal.ca

Stacy Cormier stacy.cormier@umontreal.ca

Noémie Wilkey noemie.wilkey@umontreal.ca

Interpretation guide

  • Canine
  • Feline
  • Bovine, ovine and caprine
  • Equine
  • Swine

To reach the clinical pathologist call: (450) 773-8521 poste 8420